Just 10

From my Facebook Note….

Just 10

Today is a very special day in my life. No it’s not my birthday, no one close to me died on this day… October 24, symbolizes the day in which I experienced my life changing epiphany on weight loss.

This Oct. 24, marks the 5 year anniversary of my journey. It was five years today that I sat down in Todd dinning hall, at ECU and experienced something that, till this day cannot explain fully. Here’s my best shot…

Like any other evening, I packed my tray of full of food. I had the usual, a cheeseburger, a slice of pepperoni pizza, fries, soda, a few veggies, some cookies, and cake and other little nibbles. See I had the mentality that campus dining was a lot like Ryan’s or Golden C; Buffet all the time everyday… I sat in the corner by myself as usual. As my culinary bliss lay before me, I began to eat and munch away at my food. Often, my mind wonders and I day dream. I couldn’t muster up a good one, I was stressing over my Bio mid-term that was steadily approaching. So far so normal right?. Well I made my way around to my steaming hot, greasy pizza(take note here), and I picked it up, and then that’s when my life changed forever. Well as soon as I picked it up, I began moving it to face and then, like a flash of lighting, a clap of thunder, if you will began to take place. I heard a voice. It said, “What are you doing? I was motionless. The voice continued “Think for a moment, you know how, just do it”

What seemed like minutes in time, was only a few seconds, and when I snapped out of my trance like state, my slice of pizza was still in my hands, unbitten, perfectly in tack, expect that it was cold. I cannot explain how my pizza was at one moment hot, and the next cold. I experience something that completely changed my life, a cleansing of the soul if you will. I placed the slice of pizza back on the plate, grabbed my tray and walked out of the dinning hall and never looked back.

And just like that, everything just made sense to me, about weight loss. Everything that I had ever read about weight loss made perfect sense. See, When I was younger, my mom brought me a subscription to Men’s Health when I was in high school. I asked for it because she thought I wanted for all the manly advice; how to shave, tie ties, pick up women. That was all true to an extent, little did she know I was more interested in the sex articles, the ones about condom brands, sex tips, 1st time experiences etc (Reading about Lube and Surrogate Wives at age 16..life changing LOL)

n22206717_31437822_253.jpg

Well through all those months of MH’s, I read the health and fitness articles tool… Those that know me know I didn’t really follow any of that advice— LOL I topped out at a size 50w and about 345lbs with a Body fat % estimated around 68%. Somehow, all those glossed overed articles, had crossed me for a reason. Little did I know then, the true power, those excersies, and diet plans had. I stand before you today, a size 34w, 215 LBS, with a Body fat of about 17%. It’s been a long struggle, a test of will power, determination, consistency, persistence and hard work. And I’m not done yet.

flex.jpg

This journey has made me stronger, wiser, funnier, and smarter. I have done things, I never once dreamed up. I’ve been on both sides and while it’s sad to say, the world treats you different depending on what side you’re on. Having been on both has definitely altered my view of the world. More so than anything, I believe now, more than ever;, Having and maintaining inner beauty is far more impressive and important, than all the best bodies and lost pounds in the world. I sincerely and honestly feel that way. Give me good friends, over vapid and shallow people any day. I’d rather have a gut and be down to earth, than have a six-pack and be a dick. Stay humble and grounded.

For those that were with me before this journey, to those that have been apart of it,–I just want to thank you all, so much.

I just want to tell everyone, don’t give up, don’t stop, no matter the goal or dream. Stop the doubt, kill the fears, lose the pride. When things get as low as you think they can get… Simply…Press.. On

8 Responses

  1. Justin,
    Wow, what a difference! You look great and I am sure that you feel better than ever!
    You are right, there are no limits on what we can achieve. We are only limited by our own thoughts!
    You are on a great journey both physically and spiritually! I am sure that you much to teach us all. Keep writing!

  2. Thank you for that bit of inspiration! It will go a long way towards keeping me on the path. Great job!

  3. Tobeme,

    Thanks, You’re so wise. I hope that I can inspire and teach people a great deal as well.

    Waistloss,

    Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad I could help. If you ever want to chat and trade tips, just let me know.

  4. This is a great post and you deserve the bragging rights. Thanks for sharing but do you think I have to wait five years which places me dangerously close to senility after which I may not know what to do with my new buff body.

  5. You look so incredible and I know this wasn’t easy for you to do. Look at those muscles! WOW! I love your confidence and you’re right. You just have to press on, even when it doesn’t seem to make a lot of sense or satisfaction at that moment. Eventually, it will sink in.

    I look forward to reading more; thanks for posting yesterday!

  6. You look wonderful…and such an inspiring post. Press on. Cannot get any simpler or more powerful than that. Great job!!

  7. I just wanted to say thanks for posting this and being an inspiration to me. You look wonderful and seem so self confident. I look forward to reading more from you.

  8. This is very nice and informative post. I have bookmarked your site in order to find out your post in the future.

Leave a Reply

