Hug A Tree

Adrian over at his blog, uncensoredwritings, listed several things he does each day to take care of himself. One of the things he listed, was hugging a tree each day, the big, old ones, with hopes that it will impart some knowledge from all it’s experience. When I first read it I chuckled, maybe even grinned. Then I began to think  about it for a moment.  I began to see the symbolism.

Old trees like old, or wise people are often over looked.  They hold valuable “rings” of information and have much guidance to give if we just take the time to listen.   Many times, we dismiss old people as being just that, old. We judge them, and label them as being behind the times.  Yes the times may have changed by the same circumstances still exist to today. The same problems and pressures, they  went through, are still around today, maybe just in a different form. There is a great deal that we can learn from these old “trees”.  Also like trees, people fo often unnoticed, we become used to them being around,  time after time, and we don’t notice the tree until it’s gone, chopped down or withered dead.

Both of my grandfathers have passed, and while I still have both my grandmother, there are at times, in which I miss my grandfathers greatly. There are times in which I could channel them for advice, especially during these years of infancy on the road to become a true man.  The tree you hug, doesn’t have to be related to you, there are many others out there, waiting to be hugged. Not every tree has to be old, either. We sometimes underestimate, what people have experienced in their lifetime, regardless of the duration.  

Find a tree and hug it tightly.  Shake all the fruit that you can from it. When was the last time your truly hugged a tree?

6 Responses

  1. Justin,
    I like the analogy. Yes, we should be open to the lessons of all that we come in contact with, there is much to learn and the person you least expect to teach you something is often times the holder of the greatest lessons of your life.

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever hugged a tree with the intention of gaining knowledge from it, but it certainly makes a lot of sense to me. I’ll put that on my to-do list!

  3. Yes, I’ve hugged a tree before. I felt it’s age, it’s wisdom… wisdom of just living all those years. I also felt it’s peace. There is peace in getting close to a tree. It’s spell makes all your worries and thoughts vanish until it’s just you and him (or her).

  4. I am so glad I have met all you amazing people, everyone I know seems to think I’m a little thick, but you guys all know I’m thick!!
    Thank you,
    Adrian

  5. I’m glad you like your grandparents. I like mine too, it’s just that I see them once every few years, which sucks.

    Tree hugging is cool too.

  6. Awesome Post! I loved reading it

Leave a Reply

