Preparing..

As some of you know, I have my interview Friday for film school.  In preparation for this interview, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking, and great deal of self reflection.

I’ve been preparing for those questions, you know, questions like “what are your strengths, your weaknesses” “Where do you see yourself in five years” “Why should we choose you over other candidates”

Finding the answers to these types of questions, are keeping me grounded and humble.  Obviously I can’t be overly boastful, yet I have to pick out qualities that I think make me a great person.  What are the qualities that I pride myself on, which ones do I desire more of? All of this thinking, helps me become a little more aware of myself and the persona I project.  How did I acquire these traits? What events, what situations, what people have I been faced with, that strengthed these traits or have brought these traits out.  All of this thinking  shows me how I see myself, maybe more importantly how I want others to see me.

We all want to be well liked, loved, cared for, respected..But looking beyond the basics. What do we want?  Do you want to be a leader? Would you rather be considered loyal or hardworking? A faster thinker or compassionate?

I care what people think of me! Stop wait a minute, I said OF me, not ABOUT about me.  Oh people can talk and belittle the way I dress, talk, look and act etc.  They can judge my motives, my life, whatever, I don’t care.  But at the end of the day, I want people to able to say “Hey, there’s Justin.. He’s dependable,  honest, loyal, genuine..”  “If I ever need help, I know that Justin, will do what he can..”  Having great character traits, that are noticeable, that are true, that are pure, that’s what matters to me.

Do we project, what we think we are, and not nesccaily what we truly are? 

Or are we only as true as much as others think we are? 

Makes you think…

3 Responses

  1. I’m getting excited for you. Just be yourself, show interst in them and what they do and you’ll be fine.
    BIG HUG from the faggot in Cape Town!

  2. My favorite interview question:

    “If you could be any animal, which would it be? Why?”

  3. BTW I got some new before and after pics up. Check them out.

Leave a Reply

