The Interview

The night before the interview. I had nightmares. I mean serious hardcore, I want my mommy.  I dreamed that I flew down a day early, and for some reason I would go home, and then realize about 3 hours before my interview that I was back in NC and not FL.  I woke up screaming..”I’m Here, I’m Here”. Covered in sweat etc.. Scary times.

I spent most of the day Friday, studying up on the possible interviews, alumni of the school and things about the program.  I practiced my short film idea pitches.  I paced.  I tried to eat light and such, I didn’t wanna to sleep and sluggish.

Ok 5:00pm the actual interview…

I met with the Director of the program and two other faculty members.  I walked in and took the seat in front of everyone.  The interview overall when pretty good.  I messed up on two questions. two very important questions IMO. ***  The questions here after this weekend******The rest of the individual interview went great. They loved the story I pitched. I had them laughing at some of my responses. I gave great answers to everything else.  I think, I asked good solid questions of them. One of which caught them off guard.  The interviewers in general, were really nice, really personable and down to earth.  It made the interview much easier.

The group interview was interesting.  One of the girls was from China, and her English was very good, so I tried to help her, and made sure she was involved. I don’t want to comment to much on this, as the last round of interviews is this weekend, and I don’t want to give an unfair advantage to the other behind me.

They assured all of us, that will have a really diverse group of students, and that there is no rank order.  As people turn down spots, similar persons would take that spot, not the a numerical replacement. 

Before the group interview, I sorta bonded with all the other guys there that day.  We laughed and talked and joked.  It made everything a little easier.  I even offered my apt to some of the people traveling back.

Overall I’m satisfied with the interview. I’d give me a 7.5/10  If I don’t get in, I’ll know exactly what I need to do, next year. LOL.

4 Responses

  1. Justin,
    Overall, it sounds like all went well. Interviews are always crazy, you never really know how you really did in the minds of the interviewer. I hope that you get all that you desire. Are you visualizing the outcome that you want?

  2. Glad you finally wrote about it, Justin, but definitely understand you not wanting to say much… when it’s all over, then you can talk all you want.

    Interviews ARE always crazy… hate them! I get so nervous, then after wonder why. When you can be yourself, you can relax and that is what you want. When too nervous, having effective, constructive conversation is impossible.

  3. I hope you get it but if it doesn’t work out, it’s not because you didn’t try hard enough or give them a favorable impression. In other words, you did your best and I’m really proud of you. I know that has to be hard for introvert to go in and pitch yourself but it sounds like you did great.

  4. hey justin,
    i also had an interview at FSU this past week.
    it sounds like you are really excited about going to FSU. i hope it works out for you.
    i have an interview at UCLA in April, which I think is my number one choice. so pull for me at UCLA! and I’ll pull for you at FSU, haha.
    drop me a line, if you wanna talk film or grad school stuff.
    aj
    AIM = dahinducow

Leave a Reply

