To Write a Writer

I’m a man of my word, so here it is the post about meeting Denton (unusual name right? do you know a DENTON?) 

Back Story: Co-worker’s BFF is visiting from Tenn. for the weekend; the game plan was to go out. 

The Mission: To go to Dr. Unks (DRUNKS, slick naming I know) grab some booze and listen to a band named 5th generation. (think Korn with reggae)Well I arrived at the Bar, pretty late, I’m talking 10 mins before the place shutdown anyways. (I know so unlike me, but I had to work late)  I make the grand appearance, still dressed in work attire, but I was determined to get there.

Denton really seemed to be interested in getting to know me.  He was regurgitating  my life facts back to me assumedly  passed on to him by his BFF, whom is one of my co-workers,(which cannot be named, as I promised myself I would never blog about my co-workers on this blog).   I was somewhat taken back on this.  I thought man this guy is really nice and seems to be putting forth a decent effort to be really friendly.  After stuffing my face full of cold leftover food, we all head back to my co-workers house for a few more drinks and social time.

Ok, I won’t lie, when Denton wanted us all sit on the floor, and chat, I was honestly cool with it, until this guy pulled out a note pad and starts taking notes.  Okay, I’m thinking, this is sort of funny, yet just a littllllllle bit odd.  But not enough odd to freak me out.  So I’m thinking, psychologist, nahhh, Life coach??  nahhh..  Poor memory??? Nope… It’s not until Denton leaves and comes back with a bigger note pad, that I came to the conclusion this guy has got to be a writer, or he’s seriously a serial killer in disguise, and of course, me being black and all, I’d be the first to go…that’s how it work right? Maybe the better question is how many trees had to die, in the process of meeting Denton.

Denton is the kinda guy that you don’t meet every day.   I dunno, it just felt right.    It was easy to be myself, without much worry or concern.  Sometime I have to give people small doses of “Justin”, yanno what I mean.  He was funny and didn’t take anything (including himself) too serious, which is a good thing. It wasn’t battle the male macho ego, or low-blow central.  It was just a clean first-impression. Outside from being questioned to death, it felt like MY old friend was visiting for the weekend.  So when he’s a publish writer maybe I’ll get to see myself on the pages of a novel one days.  Me thinks that would be pretty chill.

So world, if you haven’t met Denton Loving, yet, do yourself a favor and RUNNNNNNNNNN.. haha just kidding.

One Response

  1. Sounds like you had a good time which you are desperately in need of right now, no?
    kim

Leave a Reply

